Assist, pass leads directly to made field goal – transition play
An assist is credited to the player tossing the last pass leading directly to a made field goal, but only if the player scoring the goal demonstrates an immediate reaction toward the basket after receiving the pass. Note also that an inbound pass can be credited as an assist if it leads directly to a field goal. By rule, no more than one assist can be credited for each goal. On this play, #12 in the purple uniform receives the ball outside the 3 point line, takes one dribble, and then drives to the basket for a successful dunk. As assist should be credited to #37 in the purple uniform who delivered the ball to #12, because the receiving player’s immediate reaction upon receipt of the pass towards the basket.